The organisers would like to thank all the participants very much again for coming to the meeting on 4th June, we really hope you enjoyed the day. It was great to see such a large number of people, hearing about the interesting science that is being done with the Aquila HPC cluster and share ideas during both the formal and informal discussions.

In particular we would like to thank all talk- and poster presenters, the session chairs and the independent judges and everybody who participated in the discussions. We are very grateful to Prof Mike Giles for a very inspiring keynote lecture, James Davenport for the introduction in the morning and David Bird for guiding the discussion in the afternoon, and to everybody else who helped out during the day with catering, staffing the registration desk and making sure that everything went smoothly.

A photograph of all delegates can be found here: delegation photo.

We would like to congratulate once more Dr Eike Mueller, who won the prize for the best talk, and Adam Jackson, who won the prize for the best poster - well done!

Many of the presentations from the HPC Symposium are now available online, see the programme page for links to the presentations.

Also watch out for the news article which is soon to appear on the University webpage.

Given the success of yesterday's meeting and the lively discussion session in the afternoon, it would be great if we can build on the momentum to follow up from this. We would definitely like to hold another meeting next year, but if there is interest in this, we could also organise a shorter, informal discussion session sooner, i.e. within the next few months, with particular focus on the next generation Bath HPC system.

Also don't forget that there is a user mailing list on aquila ( which can be used for general discussions. If you have any other ideas on how to follow on from the symposium or how to improve it next year, please email us on

See you next year,

The Scientific Organising Committee

Dr Steven Chapman (Computing Services)
Dr Davide Tiana (Dept. of Chemistry)
Dr Eike Mueller (Dept. of Mathematical Sciences)

degegates-small eike-talk-small adam-poster-small

Posted in: Advancing Research Computing, High Performance Computing (HPC), Research