Friday 8 March is International Women’s Day and this year’s campaign theme is #BalanceforBetter. What better time to reflect on the recent achievements of our female staff and students in the Faculty.

Recognising outstanding contributions to STEM
The 2019 FDM Everywoman in Tech Awards took place on Wednesday 6 March, where two of our academics – Dr Apala Majumdar from the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Dr Adelina Ilie from the Department of Physics – were both nominated for the Academic Award.

Dr Apala Majumdar won the Academic category for her outstanding contribution to technology and science through her work into liquid crystals and its potential to make a significant long-term impact in STEM. Dr Majumbar is also a member of editorial board of Mathematics & Mechanics of Solids, a member of Global Challenges Research Funding Strategic Advisory Group, and a member of ICMS (International Centre for Mathematical Sciences) programme committee.

Professor Carole Mundell, Department of Physics, was listed in 100 most influential women in the West and recently appointed as the Chief Scientific Advisor at the FCO.

The Emerging scholar award was presented to Daniela De Angeli (Computer Science) by the Inclusive Museum Conference.  The emerging scholar awards are given to outstanding graduate students or early career academics who have an active academic interest in museum-related research, with a focus on inclusivity.

Dr Asel Sartbaeva is one of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s 175 faces of Chemistry.  She also won the IChemE Hanson Medal 2018/19.

Dr Charareh Pourzand- has been invited as a world expert by the international BioIron Society organisers to give a full workshop and an invited lecture in the 2019 EMBL Course on Techniques for Studying Iron in Health and Disease, which will take place from 2 - 4 May 2019 at EMBL Heidelberg, Germany.

 Major fellowships

In March 2018, Dr Cécile Mailler, from the Department of Mathematical Sciences, was awarded an applied probability fellowship by EPSRC.

Dr Selene Fernandez-Valverde joined the Milner Centre for Evolution as a Royal Society Research Fellow. She was recently awarded a L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Rising Talents Award.

Professor Banafshe Larijani was awarded the Guy-Newton Fellowship 2018 at the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology at the University of Oxford. She was recently appointed by the Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology as Professor of Biophysics and Director of the Centre for Therapeutic Innovation.

Professor Sofia Pascu, (Department of Chemistry), currently holds a ERC Fellowship (Consolidator grant).

Dr Ruth Webster (Department of Chemistry),  holds an EPSRC Fellowship.

Dr Sara Dale (Department of Physics) is a Royal Society Research Fellow.

Dr Vicky Hunt (Department of Biology & Biochemistry) holds a Welcome Trust Henry Dale Fellowship.

Internal University prizes

Dr Lauren Cowely (Biology & Biochemistry), Dr Elizaveta Suturina (Chemistry), Dr Sarah Penington (Mathematics), Dr Kristina Rusimova (Physics)  and Dr Jane Younger (Biology &Biochemistry) were awarded a Prize Fellowship for 2018.

The Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Public Engagement with Research - Bethan Charles, a PhD student from the Centre for Sustainable Chemical Technologies, won this year’s Postgraduate Prize for her research on perovskites and their potential to transform solar energy generation.

The University’s Three Minute Thesis Final took place in June, where eight doctoral students competed against the clock by presenting their entire thesis in just three minutes. Biology PhD student, Kay Fountain, won first prize for her presentation ‘CSI and The Mystery of the Little Blue Cells’.

This year’s Chancellor’s Prize, which is awarded on an annual basis to the best final year undergraduate student, was won by Hannah Morris, a recent maths graduate, for her excellent academic results and high year abroad dissertation.

 Other highlights…

Professor Karen Edler (Chemistry) talks about her journey to professoriate level

Dr Charlotte Dodson, a lecturer in Pharmacy and Pharmacology, showcased her work at the VC’s Research Day.

On International Women’s Day itself, you can join our quiz night organised by Women in Technology, Network of Women in Physics, Women in Science and Women in Maths. It will take place at 6pm in the Wolfson Theatre on 8 March.

BCSWomen Lovelace Colloquium - takes place on Wednesday 17 April at the University of Salford. Students will have the opportunity to present their work on a poster and can win cash prizes provided by industry sponsors. In 2018 Bath students picked up prizes in nearly every category.

Finally, to date, all of our departments have received a Silver or Bronze Athena SWAN award, recognising the work being done for gender equality.


Posted in: Faculty news


  • (we won't publish this)

Write a response