Faculty of Science Learning and Teaching Awards 2019

Posted in: Academic, Faculty news, Uncategorised

The Faculty of Science Learning and Teaching Awards presentation took place on the 6 June.

The awards were introduced by the Dean of Science three years ago to recognise and celebrate teaching excellence and teaching support in the Faculty.

Nominations were received for academic staff, teaching assistants, technical and professional services staff across all departments in the Faculty. They were judged by Professor Chris Frost (Deputy Dean of Science), Amanda Harper (Director of Administration), and Malcolm Holley (Director of Faculty Technical Services).

The quality of nominations were so high this year the panel decided give two awards in each category.

Congratulations to the winners

Dr Thomas Cottrell from the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Dr Christof Lutteroth from the Department of Computer Science received the Teaching Award.

Thomas was nominated based on his “outstanding contribution in three areas: delivery of teaching; development work for e-assessment tools suitable for departmental use; and engagement with the curriculum transformation process.”

Christof was nominated based on his “Passion for teaching and love for the subject: his courses and lectures are extremely well planned, always centred on student-learning.”

Jan Malte Lichtenberg from the Department of Computer Science and Lois Wayment from the Department of Chemistry received the Faculty Teaching Assistant Award.

Jan was described by his nominator as “a truly an extraordinary teacher, with unparalleled dedication to students.”

Lois’s nomination stated “It is noticeable to me that when a student is struggling with an experiment or a particular aspect of an experiment, she will take extra time to guide them.”

The Faculty Learning Support Award was awarded to the The B&B Technical Teaching Team, Anna Mellors, Sandra Catalan, Janelle Dela Isla, Karen Rayford, David Rodrigues and Chris Vennard and to the Faculty Marketing Team, Simone Dumergue, Meghan Doran Rowe, Saskia Heijltjes, Katie Stoyle and Gabriel Gilson

A tricky decision

Winners were announced during the event hosted by Professor Nick Brook, Dean of Science.

Nick said: “The quality of the applications this year was very high, making it all the more trickier to choose the winners in each category. It was clear from all the applications that there are many people willing to go the extra mile to ensure our students experience the best education possible.

I’d like to thank all the nominees for their achievements in providing a first-class education across the Faculty and especially Thomas, Christof, Jan, Lois, The Biology and Biochemistry Technical team, and the Faculty Marketing team for their outstanding contributions.”


Posted in: Academic, Faculty news, Uncategorised


  • (we won't publish this)

Write a response