Our University Teaching Award 2018 winners!

Posted in: Uncategorised

Inspirational learning and teaching was celebrated at this year's Education Awards evening held on 13th April 2018 at a glittering joint ceremony with the Students' Union Academic Rep Awards. University Teaching Award winners were announced on the night and presented with their awards by Professor Peter Lambert, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning & Teaching), Professor Jeremy Bradshaw, Pro-Vice Chancellor (International & Doctoral) and Professor Jonathan Knight, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Professor Andrew Heath, Director of the Centre for Learning & Teaching.

Over 45 nominations were received for six University Teaching Awards, recognising outstanding staff achievements in learning and teaching across the University. Professor Peter Lambert, Chair of the Awards Committee, congratulated all nominees for their commitment to delivering exceptionally high quality learning, teaching and pastoral support activities.

Winning members of staff were delighted to receive their University Teaching Awards as recognition of their outstanding effort and commitment to learning and teaching.

Dr Cassie Wilson, Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching) of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, received the Leadership in Learning and Teaching Award. In her nomination, Cassie received consistently high praise for her role as an inspirational leader who has led on a range of developments to support learning and teaching.

Dr Peter Sloan from the Department of Physics was named as this year's winner of the Innovation in Learning and Teaching Award.  Peter was commended for his commitment and expertise , as well as the high level of care he gives to his students. Recently, Peter founded UNi-LAB Maker Club, an innovative "maker space" that aims to capture and nurture students' enthusiasm for practical science outside of traditional laboratory teaching.

Dr James Betts from the Department for Health was this year's winner of the Mary Tasker Award. James was congratulated for his enthusiastic and inspirational approach to teaching, as well as his achievement in encouraging students to gain first-hand experience of research.

Dr Kate Fraser, Department of Mechanical Engineering, received this year's John Willis Award. Kate's achievements in balancing her outstanding research record with pedagogic and pastoral elements of her role were highly commended by both staff and students.

The Placements Team in the School of Management was delighted to receive the Best Team Award in Support of Student Learning Award. The Team impressed the Awards Committee with their outstanding performance, underpinned by their clear sense of collective responsibility, high level of personal development and the pastoral care they offer to their students.

Professor Chris Bowen, Department of Mechanical Engineering, was the delighted winner of this year's Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize, which recognises exceptional performance and and conduct in the supervision of doctoral students at the University. Chris was praised for his enthusiasm and ability to help others, particularly through his work with students to develop research skills, mentoring new academics and helping to build a vibrant research team.

(Photo credit: Ashish Nagpal)


Posted in: Uncategorised


  • (we won't publish this)

Write a response